Fashion, Beauty, and the pursuit of everything Fabulous.

Archive for March 27, 2012

How to create your own kind of beautiful – Interview with Karen Joseph

Crocodile, $35.00

Strong, independent, and determined are three words that describe Karen Joseph, owner of Ezzie Bliss, a newly launched online accessories store. This March, the single mother of three set out to make her love of fashion a successful business, while pursuing a degree in nursing – an unlikely career path for someone who has a background in accounting and telecommunications. As a young girl growing up in Grenada, accessories played a major part in helping her develop self-confidence.

“There were days when I felt ugly when I saw myself in the mirror; although my friends and family told me different,” she says. “It was those pieces of jewelry that made me feel transformed – as if it was like therapy when I put them on. Accessories helped me to build my confidence, and is now leading me towards my accomplishments. I hope I could relay this feeling to other women in similar situations.”

How did you decide on the name?

My sister Ezra is the inspiration behind the name Ezzie Bliss.  Although she is my younger sister, Ezra has had a major impact on my life. She is driven to achieve her goals, she is caring, loyal and loving and because of these qualities, I look up to her and admire her. In Hebrew, Ezra means helper. Ezra is currently engaged and in August she will become Mrs. Bliss. Combining Ezra and Bliss just made sense to me.  When I was thinking about the name Ezzie Bliss it meant “helper of joy.” In my life my sister and my family have been my foundation and my joy.

What motivated you to start your online accessories business? (more…)